Vector

We had been on partol in the Saturn system for about a week when the call came in. My group was up and on the flightline before the watch officer’s announcement finished.

Climbing quickly into my ship, I buckled in and signaled my readiness.

“Launch, Gamma 3 ready.”

The Gamma pilots announcing right after I did.

“Gamma Flight, Launch Control. Go in, 5 4 3 2 1”

I was slammed back into my seat as the mag catapult flung my ship out into space, the engines kicking in automatically once I reached a safe distance from the hull.

For today’s duty round I had drawn center position in the five ship formation. The launch computers were spot on today as the flight slid into formation the others a diamond around me slightly behind my position.

Pulling up the nav data, I quickly plotted the necessary vector to intercept with the ship in distress as soon as possible.

“Ok Gamma, course is set. Grab the vector from my beacon and get ready to go.”

I watched my flight board as each pilot confirmed the information and the light for their ship went green.

When all were ready, I gave the order. Hitting the execute the ship’s thrusters adjusted my heading and the engines kicked into high gear. The acceleration pushing me back only slightly as the flight moved in unison towards our target.


There you have it another installment in the same story as Transition, I hope you liked it.

–>

4 thoughts on “Vector”

  1. Things all seem to be coming together TOO smoothly – I sense imminent disaster in the offing! =)

    Why am I smiling at that? Well, I LIKE a little imminent disaster in a story, that’s why!

    Boldly Going Through the Alphabet!
    @shanjeniah
    Part-Time Minion for Holton’s Heroes
    shanjeniah’s Lovely Chaos

Leave a Reply

