Transition

I checked the straps holding me to my acceleration couch. Tightening one up a bit more, I looked over at the chronometer checking the time left before transition.

As the second counted down I began to hold my breath. I knew it wouldn’t help with the sensations of the jump through the fold in space that the ships engines would soon create.<!–more–>

The numbers on the countdown approached zero and I closed my eyes. 

It was said that every traveler experienced transition with eyes open once. Just once, the visual hallucinations it caused were something no one would wish to experience a second time. In fact this wasn’t exactly true, in the early days of transition it was discovered that certain mindsets could handle open eyed transition just fine. For a time those who could were assigned to ship duty as it was beloved they would do better in such positions than those who couldn’t take it. However, ether due to the immunity or as a result of repeated exposure to transition, it was found that those individuals were not entirely balanced. It took a couple major incidents involving those crews for the decision to be made to ground those affected as much as possible.

That said I was “lucky” enough to not have that problem.

The warning tones sounded, the last one shifting in pitch as the warping effects of transition hit.

I felt as if I was being twisted at the same time I was pulled from both ends. It wasn’t exactly painful, but the sensation mixed with the odd sound that assaulted my ears briefly before the pitch of the transition tone shifted back and the end of transition tones sounded.

Knowing it was safe to do so, I opened my eyes. As I took in the wall in front of me, I let out the breath I had been holding.

Another successful transfer.

5 thoughts on “Transition”

  1. OK, mow I really want to know where this character is headed…and I kinda want to feel being twisted and pulled from both ends, too. I’m imagining being taffy…

    Bookmarking you to come back to when the April insanity is over!

    Boldly Going Through the Alphabet!
    @shanjeniah
    Part-Time Minion for Holton’s Heroes
    shanjeniah’s Lovely Chaos

    1. The good news is I do have a few ideas on where this may be going from here.
      The bad news, I have absolutely no idea when I will get it written 🙂

      Glad you liked it.

      1. Oh, do I know THAT feeling. I figure I’ve got about 3 lifetimes worth of ideas….

        And the Vulcan lady in my head keeps insisting I tell new stories, and she’s fierce and a little scary…

        I’ll be back to enjoy more of what you have written, and anticipate what’s yet to come.

        Boldly Going Through the Alphabet!
        @shanjeniah
        Part-Time Minion for Holton’s Heroes
        shanjeniah’s Lovely Chaos

Leave a Reply

