Laith Google Glass

TEDxDesMoines 2013

Laith Google Glass
Photo Credit: Ben Curtis

Back in early September I had a chance to attend our local TEDx event TEDxDesMoines.

During the sessions between speakers I had a chance to see a some cool technologies being demonstrated, including a 3D printer.  I also got to try the Oculus Rift.

But the best demo I was able to do was try out Google Glass. It was really cool, but I had few problems with it.

  1. Without my glasses on the screen ended up very blurry.
  2. It seemed a bit laggy in reacting to touch actions
  3. The demo model had issues with the ambient noise in the hall.

I think the lag may have been related to the tether that was used to mirror the display on a projection screen. The second demo model didn’t have the mirror setup and seemed more responsive from what I gathered from other participants.

I had to leave the event a bit early but the talks I heard were really good.

Especially

You can check out the rest of the event talks at the YouTube playlist.

If you have the opportunity to attend one of these events take it!

Here is Jessica Wachter’s excellent talk.

4 thoughts on “TEDxDesMoines 2013”

  1. Interesting…I always thought the Google Glass wouldn’t do very well just because it would be awfully distracting. I mean, if you were walking around a pick-pocket or bum approached you while you were reading something on the screen, how vulnerable would you be? Maybe it’s just me, but I wouldn’t want to be distracted like that in a city. And I can only imagine using it in a city I was unfamiliar with.

    I would like the opportunity to visit a Ted event. I’ll have to look that up locally.

    1. The screen is kind of overlaid on your vision. Not really more distracting than a smart phone and has greater situation awareness without staring down at your hands.
      Not for everyone… I probably wouldn’t use one in general. But it was still cool.

        1. I can see potential uses in the workplace for certain. Like a mechanic getting manual pages or diagrams in vision while working or such.

          I wouldn’t generally want to walk around wearing one, but I could see a time where a reporter does an on the spot interview using a similar device.

Leave a Reply

