Sunday Comics: Issue 1 [Reviews]

Happy Sunday Everyone,

As part of my plan to get good content out on a regular basis I’m implementing what I am calling Sunday Comics. In these posts I will put up a short review of various comic books, graphic novels and web-comics that I have either read for review purposes or have found interesting.

I can’t promise that I will have something for this every week, but I will see what I can do 🙂

Sunday Comics: Issue 1

Last Days Of An ImmortalLast Days of an Immortal by Fabien Vehlmann & Gwen de Bonneval

This work is a surprisingly deep science fiction story which leans heavily on philosophy for both the main stories and the underling tale of the main character Elijah. Elijah works as an agent for the “Philosophical Police,” an organization which deals with crimes that arise between peoples in this world of the future. A future where very different alien races come into contact regularly and their cultural differences can lead to unexpected consequences.

Technology has advanced to the point that humanity is basically immortal, they can send copies of themselves off to take care of things and later re-integrate the memories into the original. But at a price.

The art is a very well drawn, but somewhat minimalist style. This stylistic choice I think does an excellent job of keeping the focus on the story by not detracting from it, instead enhancing it. Last Days of an Immortal is an English translation of the French original (les derniers jours d’un immortel) and at times it shows a bit in the language. The English version went on sale in December and is listed as ages 18 – up, I would definitely agree with that as there are sections where the art crosses the line into adult territory.

My Recommendation: Buy if you are interested in a well written story with surprising use of philosophy driving it.

I reviewed this book as a digital review copy from the publisher Archaia Entertainment via NetGalley.

Rust Volume 2: Secrets of the Cell by Royden Lepp

Rust is a wonderfully drawn story taking place in a post war world, where robotic soldiers are a normal thing. While I did enjoy the story and the art by Lepp, I did have a bit of a problem following it as I did not read the first volume (Rust Volume 1: Visitor In The Field).

The story seems to mostly revolve around Jet Jones, a robotic soldier in the form of a boy and his interactions with those around him. At times he seems to be far more human than one would expect.

My Recommendation: Take it or leave it. I’m hoping to read a copy of Vol 1 at some point which may change my opinion upwards.

Rust Vol 2 was released at the end of December also by Archaia Entertainment and I got my review copy via NetGalley.

Leave a Reply

