NaNoWriMo Day 8, Audio Resources

I was making good progress on my National Novel Writing Month word count yesterday evening. Almost 1000 words for the first time in days, unfortunately I decided to take a short break and lay down on the couch to read for a few minutes.

Yeah, I fell asleep. Next thing I knew it was 12:15am and Sal was waking me to head up to bed. Note to self, couch & evening = bad for wordcount.

Anyway at just over a week into NaNoWriMo I am at 8298 words of the 50,000 word goal. Now if I was at pace I should have ended at 13,333 or better. Not exactly encouraging numbers, however I have a few things in my favor.

First today is a teacher in-service day, so I’m home with our school age girls. I’m planning on spending a good part of the day doing fun stuff with them (wii tournament?) but I’m sure there will be some times when they want to do their own thing and I can get some words in. Then we’ve got the weekend, this weekend is much more open than last so I hope to get some ground made up too.

Now for some good writers resources, I very much enjoy listening to several writers podcasts and each of the ones  listed below have content specifically for NaNo. I listen to podcasts while at work so it doesn’t cut into my writing time, but sometimes you need a break, and listening to other writers discuss their stories may just shake something loose for you.

Keep Writing!

  • The Roundtable Podcast (The guys over here regularly workshop stories that writers need a little help with, the ran a four episode special The NaNoWriMo Project)
  • Writing Excuses (The writing excuses podcast has posted a very short mini episode, the labeled in #1 so I expect further pep-talks)
Leave a Reply

