John Carter (of Mars) [Movie Review]

Disney promotional material

The other weekend I had the pleasure of going to see John Carter at one of our local movie theaters. I had heard that the reviews had been a bit mixed for the film, however it’s based of one of the classics of the genre so I thought I would give it a shot.

First off let me say I did see the film in standard not 3D, so it is possible that the film isn’t as good in forced perspective. That said I found the film to be very enjoyable, playing homage to both its old school science-fiction roots as well as more modern technique.

As I said in my post the other day, I had not previously read the source material A Princess of Mars. I had however read other works by Burroughs, specifically The Land That Time Forgot, and its sequel.

I don’t know if this had an impact on my enjoyment of the film, I’ve heard comments on both sides of the fence. However I do think that its old school elements may have fallen a bit flat to modern audiences, if they were not aware to expect them. And I strongly think the house of mouse messed up the promotional material, leaving audiences not exactly knowing what they were getting into.

Having now finished and enjoyed Princess, I can see places where things were changed, and most of them I don’t have a problem with. The original story is a bit character heavy for a movie length work, so the reduction of characters was logical and well done. Also the combination of portions of the storyline and removal of others seemed to work for me.

The film itself was well shot, with really good special effects and well rendered CGI characters. The acting by both the live action actors and the vocal work of the voice actors for the CGs was really good.

While I’m not sure that this is one for my video shelf, I can see it being a rental or catching it on TV. Overall a good film, I would recommend catching it in the theater if you still can (second run anyone?) or at least doing a weekend movie night rental of this title.

One thought on “John Carter (of Mars) [Movie Review]”

  1. I agree completely. It wasn’t great, but it wasn’t bad either, and at the end of the movie there was a smile on both my and my hubbie’s face. It was fun. I think it is too bad that so many folks expected…more, I guess. Ah, well.

Leave a Reply

