Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl:: Banned Books Week

I was looking over the list of challenged books for the last year to find a topic for today’s Banned Books Week post.

I was shocked to find Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl had been challenged this year. I would have thought that by this day and age the import of this text and the story it tells would have provided protection. The need to never forget the horrors of the past, lest they recur, is vital to the survival of our species.

Obviously I was mistaken. However, I was equally surprised by the reasons given for the challenge. Anne Frank is not a light and happy book, I expected the complaints be in regards to the dark nature of the story.

This was not the case. The reasons given were that the book includes sexual material and homosexual themes. It has been a while since I had to read it but I really don’t recall much material of that kind in the book. Considering the events happening in the world at the time depicted I would think that some of the content would not only be expected, but necessary. Looks like I need to add this one to my “to re-read” pile since I am at a loss here.

As I said above, and many others have said elsewhere, it is very important to remember the past so it is not repeated.

Other posts in this series

One thought on “Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl:: Banned Books Week”

Leave a Reply

